In SageCRM, if a user adds a document under a company or a person then that is viewed by everyone who accesses the company or person under which the document is linked. This could be a good feature but this can also result in a scenario where user could get access to unwanted or information.
To illustrate this point please find the below example:
• Named User 1 is Sales Rep 1 and is allocated only report doc named “June Sales Rep 1” and “Sales General”.
• Named User 2 is Sales Rep 2 and is allocated only report doc named “June Sales Rep 2” and “Sales General”.
• Named User 3 is Sales Rep3 and is allocated only report doc named “June Sales Rep 3” and “Stock on Hand General”.
• Named User 4 is Sales Manager and can view all reports assigned to users 1 through to 3 but not System Administrator.
Here is what we can do to make sure that the documents are viewed as per the user hierarchy.
Maintain User Hierarchy
In order to maintain the document security based on the user hierarchy we will make use of the files “Reports To” which is available at user level.
As per the example given:
User Reports To
Sales Rep1 (SR1) Sales Manager (SM)
Sales Rep1 (SR2) Sales Manager (SM)
Sales Rep1 (SR3) Sales Manager (SM)
Sales Manager (SM) System Administrator
Now based on these user setting,
• If SR1 logs into the CRM he will be able to only view the documents where Owner field is set as SR1. And is SM logs into the CRM then he would be view documents for which Owner is set as SR1 or SR2 or SR3 OR SM.
• View Owned Shared Document:
We will provide a new tab in My CRM context named as “My Shared Documents”. This tab will show all the documents that are owned by him and the users who are working under him.
• New Document:
If user has rights to create or add new documents he/she can get New button. When user will click on the New button new document entry screen will appear:
• Here, Owner field should be filled up properly to show correct data on “My shared Document” tab.
• On click of Save button, will save the changes and revert back to the “My Shared document” tab.
• On click of Cancel button, will redirect to the “My Shared document” tab.
• Edit Document:
Once user will click on the File hyperlink the document entry is opened in the edit mode as:
• If user has rights to edit the document then he/she can get the Save button. On click of Save button, will save the changes and revert back to the “My Shared document” tab.