Consider the scenario where:
1. The system has to alert the user to make sure that all the changes that have been done are saved or not?
2. If user goes for new Company/Person/Case/Opportunity/Custom Entity. And before saving the same, he/she clicked on the area apart from the new/summary screen. Here no record will get saved and all the information will get lost.
We have provided the functionality which will ask a user for confirmation that he really wants to switch from the current screen. If user clicks on the other sections like in the Administration area/ Main Menu area then it displays a message as shown below.
This functionality can be implemented on New and Edit screens of any entity so that no significant data will be lost if user clicks on area outside the screen.